Seventeen barristers appointed to Attorney General’s Panel Counsel

March 28, 2023

Seventeen barristers from Exchange Chambers are appointed to the Attorney General’s Panel Counsel.

In total, Exchange Chambers has ten barristers on Panel A, four barristers on Panel B and three barristers on Panel C.

The Attorney General’s Panel Counsel consists of junior counsel who undertake civil and EU work for all government departments.  It is administered by the Government Legal Department (GLD).

Louis Browne KC and Giles Maynard-Connor KC from Exchange Chambers are also on the GLD’s list of King’s Counsel.  The GLD maintains a non-exhaustive list of King’s Counsel who have previously been instructed by departments or have expressed interest in receiving instructions.

Commenting on the appointments, Jonathan I’Anson, Chief Executive at Exchange Chambers said:

“Members of Exchange have a longstanding history acting for government departments and we are proud to see so many of our barristers appointed to the Attorney General’s Panel across the Northern and North Eastern circuits.

“Having such a strong presence on the A, B and C panels further strengthens our position as a leading provider of high-quality counsel for government work.”

The full breakdown of barristers from Exchange Chambers on the Attorney General’s Panel Counsel is as follows:


Panel A

Northern Circuit

Catherine Knowles

Carly Sandbach

David Sandiford

Richard Tetlow

David Tinkler

Andrew Vinson

Andrew Ward


North Eastern Circuit

Simon Ross

Ashley Serr

Alfred Weiss


Panel B

Northern Circuit

Brynmor Adams

Lisa Feng

Richard McLean


North Eastern Circuit

Simon Lewis


Panel C

Northern Circuit

Anja Lansbergen-Mills


North Eastern Circuit

Chris Richards


These appointments took effect from 1 March 2023.


Panel C

London Circuit

Alice Dobbie


This appointment took effect from 1 September 2023.